Author Topic: Building Basements: After Terrain Tools  (Read 4027 times)

Offline mebagl15

• Nooboo
Building Basements: After Terrain Tools
« on: April 26, 2019, 03:10:41 AM »
How do you add a basement on to a previous built house with a raised foundation, without getting terrain outcropping?

When I try to add on a basement, following the footprint of the building above, the terrain bulges out. This leaves an unsightly look to the foundation as well as disrupts the landscaping. It works Ok when the level of the building and the terrain are the same.

Has anyone else had this problem? Is there a solution?

Offline mebagl15

• Nooboo
Re: Building Basements: After Terrain Tools
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2019, 04:11:02 AM »
This is a screenshot of what I'm talking about. (Bear with me I'm a noob with screenshots and attachments)

Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline TaliaSimmySim

• Townie
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2019, 04:56:14 AM »
Well since basements are technically underground it makes sense that the terrain adjusts to keep it underground. Instead of a basement you can try to make it split level. For instance you walk into what looks like the first floor but really its the 2nd and the back is open to both. That way the ground is even with the walls. Imagine it like this, instead of laying to Lego bricks direct on top of each other stagger them slightly than rise the ground around them. Covering the empty space and giving the appearance that they just popped out of the ground. Or take away the foundation build a room and then sink the level into the ground using the foundation tool and then cover the ground back up around it. Theres some trickery there since the ground cant just go up to the wall so you're going to need to cleverly landscape to get the sane look.

Sent from my LM-Q710(FGN) using Tapatalk

Offline reggikko

• Watcher
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2019, 04:34:42 PM »