Author Topic: Laptop heating up  (Read 1800 times)

Offline Ruthelyn

• Nooboo
Laptop heating up
« on: January 24, 2017, 04:42:24 PM »
I just got a new laptop- Dell XPS 15. I started playing the Sims 4 on it today. I have the Get to Work Expansion plus 3 stuff packs. I played for two hours and noticed my game was getting slow and that my laptop was starting to heat up. This is surprising to me because this laptop is high performance and my old one never heated up. Does anyone have any suggestions/experience? Thanks.

Offline Hechicera

• Llama Wrangler
Re: Laptop heating up
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2017, 05:02:44 PM »
Sometimes the high performance ones generate more heat and are designed thinking you'll handle that. It can be really bad if some of the cooling fans are on the bottom and you lay the laptop on a solid surface to play. I know a couple of people that have get these fan things to go under theirs if they wanted to game on it for more than a couple of hours. They sell by names cooling pad, cooling mat. I don't really have any specific recommendations.

Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Deklitch

• Tribble of Reality
  • Watcher
  • Tribble is as Tribble does
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2017, 06:55:41 PM »
I purchased a LG cooling mat/stand for my laptop. It is powered either by a power cord (which has to be bought separately) or through the laptop via a USB port. I go for the USB port option. There are also has a number of USB ports on the cooling mat/stand which I also find helpful. The laptop seems to be operating well with it, and the noise from the fans is virtually non existent. Any of the cooling mats/stands should help, and the choice of powering it is up to you and your individual needs/preferences.

Offline Ruthelyn

• Nooboo
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2017, 11:58:47 PM »