Author Topic: Sims 4 - Advice for a new PC  (Read 3431 times)

Offline kirsty.s

• Nooboo
Sims 4 - Advice for a new PC
« on: December 15, 2017, 10:27:42 AM »
Hi everyone. This is my first time posting on a forum (ever!) so I apologise if I miss any key points out.

Basically, my PC is at least 10 years old now and is super slow. I occasionally play Sims 2 on it, but just lately it's been unbearable and right now it won't run at all (thank you Windows 10 update..) Truth be told, my PC really doesn't have the spec to run even Sims 2 and a couple of expansion packs comfortably, so it's not worth trying to find a patch etc and there's no way Sims 3 or 4 will work.

So, I've decided it's time to get a new one. I definitely want a PC rather than laptop, and it will be used for more than just gaming. General web browsing, online banking/shopping, and a way of backing up photos etc from my phone to my ext hard drive.

Budget wise, I don't really want to spend more than £500 for everything (including a monitor). Is this realistic..?
I understand that it won't be amazing quality gameplay, but I'm only a casual gamer and just want it to run fairly smoothly!

I have seen one in PC World which seems to give a pretty good spec for the price and I'm hoping somebody on here can tell me honestly whether this will do the trick. I just know if I ask in store they'll push me to buy an expensive gaming PC. A decent HDMI monitor seems to be around £95 so price-wise this PC is within my budget.

Here's the link:

https://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/computing/desktop-pcs/desktop-pcs/lenovo-ideacentre-310s-08asr-desktop-pc-10164815-pdt.html

Thanks in advance for any advice :)

Offline MrsFlynn

• Admin Assistant
  • Administrator
  • Watcher
Re: Sims 4 - Advice for a new PC
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2017, 11:51:55 AM »
This is more of an office/school work type of machine. If you're wanting to play Sims 4 with Cats and Dogs, you'll want something a little beefier and with more memory.