Author Topic: Mods for a new player  (Read 2897 times)

Offline Wistala

• Llama Wrangler
Mods for a new player
« on: January 29, 2017, 06:15:48 PM »
This is my first time playing a sims game but I'm enjoying it so far. I like mods, but I don't like having too many on a game. So I wanted to ask you guys' opinions on what mods you find to be the most useful or fun. Thank you. I don't have any game packs by the way, if that matters for certain mods.

Offline HelenP

• Immortal
Re: Mods for a new player
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2017, 05:43:01 AM »
Hi Wistala, welcome to the forum, I'm glad you're enjoying the game.

For non-tournament/non-dynasty gaming I use by default:
  • 'No Food Sparkles' from Aren on ModTheSims, it removes the sparkles from excellent quality food;
  • 'Dirt Overlay Default' also on MTS, restricts the appearance of dirt to hands and face only, no more dirty clothes;
  • 'Friendlier Ask to Leave' by ReubenHood on MTS, get waved goodbye instead of shoed off the lot;
  • 'Woohoo acceptance animations replaced' by Shimrod on MTS;
  • 'Camera Mod 1.13.104' by Buckley and updated by szielins also on MTS;
  • 'Terrain replacements' by K-hippie on MTS, improves the look of grass and rocks etc.;
  • 'Painting replacements' by Daisy Tighfield on MTS, replaces the default paintings from the painting skill;
  • 'Garden Plant overides' by pbox on MTS, changes the look of some of the plants used for gardening skill.

Then other mods as seems appropriate to the game I'm playing, so maybe
  • 'Less Musical Chairs' by Shimrod, stops sims changes seats all the time when talking to people;
  • 'Sleep all night' by Shimrod, stops sims getting up at 3am just because their sleep need is full;
  • 'Always start lots paused' by Scumbumbo on MTS, so I don't have a disaster when starting the game or changing lots if I get distracted;