Author Topic: Grafting for plants of different seasons  (Read 6996 times)

Offline MagpieC

• Nooboo
Grafting for plants of different seasons
« on: August 26, 2020, 09:52:04 AM »
This is my first time playing a gardener since I bought seasons and I'm seeing a problem where a grafting formula doesn't work because the parent plants don't grow in the same season. In my case its tulips & chrysanthemums to produce a bird of paradise. I took a cutting from the tulips in spring but when I went to graft it to the chrysanthemum in summer the graft option doesn't come up. Without cheating is there a reasonable way to get the bird of paradise flower (or any other plants that are supposed to be created by similar out of season grafts)? I know you can buy it directly (to give as a gift) but the point of grafting is supposed to be saving money and using time and effort instead.

Offline Brian_Z

• Talks too much
  • Immortal
Re: Grafting for plants of different seasons
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2020, 12:49:59 PM »
Get your chrysanthemum under a roof, and it will gain "sheltered" status.  Which means it will be active and producing flowers all year round.  You can put it in a pot in the house, or on the front porch, or even just up tight against the side of the house, if you have a bit of roof overhang.  I like to build a greenhouse- separate building with the walls full of windows, glass roof pattern, you might have to knock out the flat ceiling.

Pretty much have one of everything in here, and everything produces fruit/vegetables/flowers 56 days a year.  (I play with 14-day seasons lol)

Registered members do not see ads on this Forum. Register here.

Offline Highlander

• Llama Wrangler
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2020, 11:56:47 PM »
@Brian_Z Nice Greenhouse