Author Topic: Question on Story Progression, Free Will, and Aging  (Read 2802 times)

Offline strongsoylatte

• Llama Wrangler
Question on Story Progression, Free Will, and Aging
« on: July 31, 2014, 11:41:05 PM »
Hello! I'm relatively new to Sims 3. I've been playing the base game for a couple of months now and I just got the expansions this week (everything except World Adventures, Supernatural, and Into the Future). First off, can I just say how helpful this site is. I used to play Sims 1 a lot but for some reason, I never really moved on to Sims 2. Now that I rediscovered the game through Sims 3, this site has been my go-to on things that are new to me.

So here's my question. I want to play a family that I could grow into different generations. Is it better to turn off story progression, free will, and aging? Or leave them on?

I don't really want my moved out sims losing jobs or breaking up their families or having illegitimate kids...at least not all the time. But I also don't want them to just sit there and wait for me to come back and play them again. Although I do plan to play each household in a sort of rotation so I could check up on their progress equally. Also, I don't want the rest of the town to just stand still and not age and live their own lives. When I was playing the base game, I found it very interesting how by the 3rd generation, I would see my 1st generation's friends' kids/grand kids walking around town.

So what would you guys suggest I do?

Offline bubbles

• Dynasty Novice
  • Watcher
Re: Question on Story Progression, Free Will, and Aging
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2014, 05:24:30 AM »